meeting Miss Europe

“I hoped that this spook would be over after a couple of years. Well, and the Hungarians will then decide in a rational way, they don’t want to loose their future. And this government works in favour for the future to disappear. But it turned out that the Hungarian society and the Hungarian political culture was something completely different from what I had imagined.” (Jószef Mélyi)

– mix of german/english without full translation –

Also available HERE.

Images, Art and propaganda: In the summer of 2016, we travelled to Budapest to research about the following questions: How do cultural workers act when the political system in which they are working, abolishes its democratic structures? When the Orban-regime puts in place a conservative circle of old men to decide about the country’s cultural funding along national interests, is it time to debate about the freedom of art in a completely different way? It became obvious several times that those questions do not only concern Hungary. Seen the development of Europe they are European questions and they concern us all.
Talks with the painter and activist Csaba Nemes, the curator Zsusza Lásló and the art historian Jószef Mélyi are the basis of the radio play “Meeting miss Europe”. Our alter egos – the muscled and (once) progressive Miss Europe as well as a travelling cultural worker are searching for places and forms of political debate. In doing so they also question the role of the artist. This play searches and documents concrete strategies of our Hungarian colleagues.

Research, idea, concept: team2 (Irène Mélix + Theresa Schnell)
voices: Irène Mélix, Antje Meichsner, Jana Moll, Theresa Schnell
editing and mixing: Antje Meichsner
music: Paradeiser Productions
atmo Budapest: Frank Schulte, Adi W, Ligna, Jozef Sprinzak (Radio Aporee)

meeting Miss Europe

Meeting Miss Europe. Ein Hörstück mit ungarischen Kulturschaffenden über europäische Fragen
team2 (Theresa Schnell|Irène Mélix)
– mix of german/english without full translation –

Ebenfalls HIER zu hören.

Ich hatte die Hoffnung, dass der Spuk innerhalb von ein paar Jahren vorbei ist. Naja, und die Ungarn werden dann rational entscheiden, sie möchten ihre Zukunft nicht verlieren. Und diese Regierung arbeitet daran dass die Zukunft verschwindet. Und da kam es heraus, dass die ungarische Gesellschaft und die ungarische politische Kultur etwas ganz anderes ist, als ich mir vorgestellt hatte.” (Jószef Mélyi)

Bilder, Kunst und Propaganda: Im Sommer 2016 reisten wir nach Budapest, um dort folgenden Fragen nachzugehen: Wie handeln Kulturschaffende, wenn das politische System in dem sie agieren seine demokratischen Strukturen abschafft? Wenn die Orbán–Regierung ein konservatives Greisengremium einsetzt, um die öffentlichen Kulturgelder entlang der nationalen Interessen zu verteilen, muss dann nicht ganz anders über die Freiheit der Kunst debattiert werden? Es wurde mehrfach klar, dass die formulierten Fragen nicht allein ungarische sind. Mit Blick auf die politische Entwicklung sind es europäische und betreffen uns alle.
Gespräche mit dem Maler und Aktivisten Csaba Nemes, der Kuratorin Zsuzsa László und dem Kunsthistoriker Jószef Mélyi, sind die Basis des Hörstücks Meeting Miss Europe. Unsere alter Egos – die muskulöse und (einst) progressive Europa, sowie eine reisende Kulturarbeiterin suchen darin nach Orten und Formen des politischen Streits. Dabei befragen sie auch die Rolle der Künstler*innen. Das Hörstück sucht und dokumentiert konkrete Strategien unserer ungarischen Kolleg*innen.

Recherche, Idee, Buch: team2 (Irène Mélix + Theresa Schnell)
Sprecher*innen: Irène Mélix, Antje Meichsner, Jana Moll, Theresa Schnell
Editing und Mixing: Antje Meichsner
Musik: Paradeiser Productions
Atmo Budapest: Frank Schulte, Adi W, Ligna, Jozef Sprinzak (Radio Aporee)